Happy Birthday MLK

Our Roots & Shoots group went to Ten Broeck Commons for Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthdayTen Broeck Commons is a place where people take care of older people when they can’t take care of themselves anymore.  My great-grandma lives there, so I go there all the time, and I know how important it is for her and her friends to be visited there.

We sang many songs and handed them cupcakes, big chocolate-chip cookies, and little chocolate-chip cookies.  I held a tray of cupcakes while my friend Emma gave everyone a cupcake.  Irina baked cookies that morning.  They were really good.  I tasted one.

We made posters about important black people and showed them.  I had a poster about a lot of important black people.  My friend, Benny, had a poster about Sojourner Truth.  And my friend, Emma, has a poster about Louie Armstrong.  You can hear us talk about our posters in this video.

Going to Ten Broeck made me feel happy because it made the people there happy.  It was fun to sing all the songs.  And my favorite part was playing chase around the tables with my friends, and making the people laugh.

Thank you to everyone for coming and having a great time.

-Flash Girl

(A note from Hillary:  Thank you to Irina, Benny, Emma and Eli for joining our service project!  It was great to see your posters, hear your presentations and taste the yummy foods you brought to share!  And thank you to Randi, Fergi, Jo and Melissa for your enthusiasm and support!  And a special thank-you to Ida and Mance for being with us in spirit!  And to Heather over at Ten Broeck for welcoming us and helping facilitate our visit!  We’re looking forward to coming back again soon!)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Benny Rendell
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 16:34:29

    I had a really fun time at Ten Broeck! Zoe chasing me was especially fun!! I liked seeing the residents smile too.

    Reply

  2. Emma Loewen
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 16:08:56

    I realy liked to sing little miss sunshine and I hope we made people happy.

    Reply

  3. hhp news
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 16:48:41

    You guys did such a great job, and I think everyone at the nursing home was so happy about our visit. I wanted to share with you, too, this note from the Roots & Shoots organization:

    Thank you very much for submitting your latest project to the Roots & Shoots Project Database. After undergoing a brief review process by the Roots & Shoots team, your report will be made available to everyone in the R&S community through our searchable Project Database.

    All of us at Roots & Shoots, including Dr. Jane, are impressed with your project work. We are fortunate to have your group as a part of our expanding Roots & Shoots network. That network now includes over 8,000 groups in 96 countries around the world—all of whom demonstrate care and concern for the planet and its inhabitants. The efforts of each group are so important within this network.
    As Dr. Jane once said:

    Every individual matters;
    Every individual has a role to play;
    Every individual makes a difference.

    Congratulations on all of your hard work. We are excited to hear more about your projects and accomplishments in the coming months!

    Sincerely,
    The Roots & Shoots Team

    Reply

  4. Milo and Conrad
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 01:08:35

    Milo:When I watched the video I thought it looked like lots of fun! Ireally liked Benny’s presentation on Sojourner Truth. I just learned about her.

    Conrad: I liked the videos. It was funny when Emma’s brother kept slamming the piano keys. It must have been fun when everyone was chasing each other.

    Reply

  5. Rochelle
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 16:44:52

    What a great video and a super event. We can’t wait to return to NY and join you all in your Roots and Shoots adventures!

    Rochelle (mommy to Amelia and Adam)

    Reply

  6. zoeflash
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 17:57:55

    Thanks for all the comments, everybody!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

